Partizani sweep top honours at Albanian national cup finals

Tirana, Albania, March 5, 2018. Partizani claimed last Sunday the men’s as well as the women’s national cup titles in Albania. The final stage of the competition took place this past weekend in Tirana with participation of the four teams that had made it through the qualifying stages held back in November and December. Partizani lifted the trophy for the winners, claiming top honours with both their men’s and women’s teams. An impressive number of fans followed the matches at Tirana Olympic Park, showing great interest for Volleyball in the Balkan country. The Albanian Volleyball Federation awarded the top players from the competitions for the very first time, doing so as per the info resulting from the official DataVolley statistics.

Both of the women’s semi-finals ended in 3-0 wins, with Barleti Volley defeating Teuta (25-15, 25-20, 25-14) and Partizani achieving the same result in the Tirana derby with Studenti (25-13, 25-18, 25-7). Barleti were hoping to defend the title they had won last year and caught a promising start to the final, taking the first set 26-24, but Partizani changed the course of the game, sweeping three in a row (25-20, 25-19, 25-17) to secure their first women’s national cup title in 64 years.

Dream Team

MVP: Amarilda Prenga (Barleti Volley)

Best Outside Hitter: Larissa Feuerharmel de Oliveira (Partizani)

Best Middle Blocker: Esmeralda Tuci (Partizani)

Best Libero: Amarilda Llupo (Barleti Volley)

Best Setter: Çezarina Xheka (Partizani)

Best Opposite Hitter: Fatbardha Picaku (Barleti Volley)

The men’s semis registered the same score as the women’s ones, with Studenti defeating reigning national champions Vllaznia 3-0 (25-23, 25-18, 25-22) while Partizani won the derby with Tirana 3-0 (25-23, 25-20, 25-21). The players who joined Partizani earlier this winter made the difference in the final game, as the ‘Reds’ easily beat Studenti 3-0 (25-16, 25-18, 25-21), thus retaining the trophy they won a year ago.

Dream Team

MVP: Denis Rama (Studenti)

Best Outside Hitter: Srdjan Milosajevic (Partizani)

Best Middle Blocker: Blerim Pepaj (Partizani)

Best Libero: Altin Gorenxa (Partizani)

Best Setter: Aldo Kupi (Studenti)

Best Opposite Hitter: Emiljan Xhabrahimi (Studenti)