Železničar LAJKOVAC secure first-ever Serbian national league title

Belgrade, Serbia, May 7, 2019. Železničar LAJKOVAC claimed the title of the 2018/2019 Banka Poštanska Štedionica Superleague, after they defeated Jedinstvo STARA PAZOVA in the final play-off series with three wins against two of their opponents. Železničar won the fifth and all-deciding match played away, in Stara Pazova 3-0 (25-13, 25-23, 25-21), after 80 minutes of play, adding the first national championship title to the national cup crown they had secured earlier this season.

Mr Zoran Gajić, President of the Volleyball Federation of Serbia, presented the Championship trophy to Ivana Lazarević, team captain of Železničar. Mr Ivan Knežević, Secretary General, awarded the trophy for the runners-up to Emilija Antanasijević, team captain of Jedinstvo.

“This is absolutely fantastic! We came back from 0-2 to win the series, and I think we are still unaware of the success we achieved. I want to thank all the people who believed in us, and especially our former coach Dragutin Baltić, and our current head coach Mirjana Musulin,” said Ivana Lazarević, team captain of Železničar.

List of honours – Serbian women’s champions

2019 Železničar LAJKOVAC

2018 Vizura RUMA

2015-2017 Vizura BEOGRAD

2014 Partizan Vizura BEOGRAD

2010-2013 Crvena Zvezda BEOGRAD

2007-2009 OK Poštar 064 BEOGRAD